2018.03.09 FSDK Official Hi Res - Photo Credit © Courtney Middleton.jpg
“As a vocalist, Solivan, with the band in pluperfectly precise lockstep, excels on introspective and often anguished pop-flavored laments that are melodically intricate yet supremely soulful.”

“they’re the kind of stellar musicians who get crowds on their feet while demonstrating to all the world’s wannabe bluegrass pickers how the true masters get it done.”
— Bluegrass Unlimited
DSC02317Photo Credit Andy Dean.JPG

show schedule




frank solivan & dirty kitchen


With chops so hot, Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen were named IBMA’s 2016 Instrumental Group of the Year for the second time, with a third nomination in 2017. Their critically acclaimed album Cold Spell earned a 2015 GRAMMY nomination for Best Bluegrass Album of the Year, yet the accolades don’t end there.

Solivan, with banjoist Mike Munford, 2013 IBMA Banjo Player of the Year, award-winning guitarist Chris Luquette and bassist Jeremy Middleton, simmer a progressive bluegrass stew of infinite instrumental, vocal and songwriting skills soon to be featured once again on their new album If You Can't Stand the Heat slated to drop January 25th, 2019.

Since leaving the cold climes of Alaska for the bluegrass hotbed of Washington, D.C., Frank Solivan has built a reputation as a monster mandolinist — and become a major festival attraction with his band, Dirty Kitchen. Their respect and deep understanding of the tradition collides, live on stage, with jazz virtuosity creating an unforgettable, compelling performance.

Vocals, Mandolin, Fiddle / Frank Solivan
Banjo / Mike Munford
Bass / Jeremy Middleton
Guitar / Chris Luquette



Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen deliver their third and most impressive release IF YOU CAN’T STAND THE HEAT on the heels of a Grammy nomination and multiple IBMA awards including 2016’s Instrumental Group of the Year. The new 10-song collection, co-produced by Grammy-winning banjoist and Compass co-founder Alison Brown offers a vibrant mix of songs, from the traditional “Leah” featuring the mid-Atlantic bluegrass vocals of Danny Paisley and Dudley Connellto the neo-old timey Crooked Eye John, written by Cris Jacobs and featuring the inimitable fiddling of label mate Michael Cleveland to the compelling lead-off track “Crave” co-written by Frank and Becky Buller and showcasing the guitar prowess of Chris Luquette. "Crave" will have an exclusive radio premiere this Friday, November 16th on SiriusXM's Bluegrass Junction. The band also delivers a compelling rendition of Steely Dan’s “Rikki” featuring the lead vocals of Jeremy Middleton, the catchy “ Be Sure" written by Frank Solivan and the red-hot instrumental "Crack of Noon" penned by banjoist Mike Munford. Taken as a whole, IF YOU CAN’T STAND THE HEAT is an album with legs and one that is bound to influence the future evolution of bluegrass music. 

1. Crave
2. Crooked Eyed John
3. My Own Way
4. Crack of Noon
5. Set in Stone
6. Lena
7. Wild Mustang
8. Rikki Don't Lose That Number
9. Shiver
10. Be Sure

Order If You Can’t Stand the Heathttps://CompassRecords.lnk.to/theheat 

Pre-Order If You Can’t Stand the Heat: https://CompassRecords.lnk.to/theheat